

DORSET COUNCIL

MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 5 DECEMBER 2024

Present: Clirs Stella Jones (Chair), Les Fry (Vice-Chair), Jon Andrews, Jindy Atwal, Mike Baker, Shane Bartlett, Laura Beddow, Derek Beer, Matt Bell, Richard Biggs, Bridget Bolwell, Dave Bolwell, Louise Bown, Alex Brenton, Piers Brown, Ray Bryan, Andy Canning, Will Chakawhata, Simon Christopher, Simon Clifford, Toni Coombs, Barrie Cooper, Richard Crabb, Peter Dickenson, Neil Eysenck, Beryl Ezzard, Scott Florek, Spencer Flower, Alex Fuhrmann, Simon Gibson, Barry Goringe, Jill Haynes, Hannah Hobbs-Chell, Sally Holland, Ryan Holloway, Ryan Hope, Nick Ireland, Jack Jeanes, Sherry Jespersen, Carole Jones, Paul Kimber, Chris Kippax, Nocturin Lacey-Clarke, Robin Legg, Rory Major, Craig Monks, David Morgan, Steve Murcer, Louie O'Leary, Jon Orrell, Emma Parker, Andrew Parry, Val Pothecary, Byron Quayle, Belinda Ridout, Steve Robinson, Pete Roper, David Shortell, Andy Skeats, Jane Somper, Duncan Sowry-House, Andrew Starr, Gary Suttle, Clare Sutton, Roland Tarr, David Taylor, Andy Todd, Bill Trite, James Vitali, Kate Wheller, Sarah Williams, Ben Wilson and Carl Woode

Apologies: Cllrs Belinda Bawden, Rob Hughes, Cathy Lugg, David Northam, Mike Parkes, Julie Robinson, Gill Taylor, David Tooke and Claudia Webb

Officers present (for all or part of the meeting):

Jacqui Andrews (Service Manager for Democratic and Electoral Services), Jan Britton (Executive Director for Places Services), Hayley Caves (Councillor Development and Support Officer), Susan Dallison (Democratic Services Team Leader), Jonathan Mair (Director of Legal and Democratic and Monitoring Officer), George Dare (Senior Democratic Services Officer), Aidan Dunn (Executive Director - Corporate Development S151), Jennifer Lowis (Head of Strategic Communications and Engagement), Matt Prosser (Chief Executive), Lindsey Watson (Senior Democratic Services Officer), Megan Rochester (Democratic Services Officer), Paul Beecroft (Communications Business Partner) and Julia Ingram (Corporate Director for Adult Social Care Operations)

47. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

48. Appointment of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council Area

The Chair of Council noted that in December 2023, Full Council had agreed a protocol for awarding the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area to former members of Dorset Council. Current councillors were invited to nominate Honorary Aldermen from amongst former councillors and a panel comprising the Chair and Vice Chair of the Council, the Group Leaders, the Chief Executive and

the Monitoring Officer had subsequently met to consider nominations for the award, with the panel having made a recommendation to the Full Council.

First nomination – Anthony (Tony) Alford

S Christopher summarised the nomination and proposed that the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Tony Alford. This was seconded by C Monks.

Further to a vote by Council.

Decision (unanimous)

That the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Tony Alford.

Tony (attending virtually) addressed the Council and made a short speech in acceptance of the title.

Second nomination - Pauline Batstone

C Jones summarised the nomination and proposed that the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Pauline Batstone. This was seconded by S Murcer.

Further to a vote by Council.

Decision (unanimous)

That the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Pauline Batstone.

Pauline addressed the Council and made a short speech in acceptance of the title.

Third nomination – Mary Penfold

J Haynes summarised the nomination and proposed that the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Mary Penfold. This was seconded by B Quayle.

Further to a vote by Council.

Decision (unanimous)

That the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Mary Penfold.

Mary addressed the Council and made a short speech in acceptance of the title.

Fourth nomination - Molly Rennie

A Canning summarised the nomination and proposed that the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Molly Rennie. This was seconded by R Major.

Further to a vote by Council.

Decision (unanimous)

That the title of Honorary Alderman of the Dorset Council area be conferred to Molly Rennie.

Molly addressed the Council and made a short speech in acceptance of the title.

The Chair of Council and the past Chairman of Council, V Pothecary, presented each nominee with a certificate and Badge of Office.

49. Urgent items

There were no urgent items.

50. **Exempt Business**

There was no exempt business.

Chairman		

Duration of meeting: 5.45 - 6.08 pm